Navaratri is celebrated two times in a year, first in the month of Chaitra (March- April) and second time in the month of Ashwani (September – October). It is continuously celebrated for nine days in deep devotion of goddess Maa Durga. As per Hindu mythology, goddess Durga exists in many forms. These various forms of the Goddess are Uma, Gauri, Parvati, Jagatmata, Kali, Chandi, Ambika and Bhairavi, etc. and is worshipped during this nine-day long festival. People worship Her by referring to Her as Mata Sherawali as the first appearance of Her was sitting on a tiger. Chaitra Navaratri or the nine (nava-) nights (-ratri) of Durga, are celebrated in the first 9 days of the bright half of the month of Chaitra (starting from the day after Amavasya). This period of nine days Heralds the onset of spring and also marks the beginning of the new year for the hindu calendar in most parts of India.

The nine-day festival honors the role of three prinicipal female Goddesses in the Hindu pantheon – Durga, Lakshmi and Saraswati. The period of Chaitra Navaratri concludes with Ramanavami on the tenth day of the festival. Three days each are devoted to the worship of Maa Durga, the Goddess of Valor, Ma Lakshmi, the Goddess of Wealth and Maa Saraswati, the Goddess of Knowledge.People keep fasts, go to temples, and sing devotional prayers during these nine days. Moreover, a person gets virtues by performing Puja, meditation, Yagya, donations, fasting etc. in theses days. This year, the Navratri festival shall start on Thursday in Ashwini Nakshatra and will be till 19th April 2013. On the day of 4th April, people take the resolution of fast, Yagya, Puja and start worshipping Goddess. on the first day of Navratri, Shailputri incarnation of Mata is worshipped. It is well known that Mata Shailputri is the daughter of Himalaya and is also known as Goddess Parvati. Fast is observed during Navratri in order to please Goddess. And, Path of Maa Durga is performed at night. A person get auspicious results of performing Jagran in the nights of Navratri.

 Nine Incarnation of Goddess:

Maa Shailputri
Maa Brahmacharini
Maa Chandraghanta
Maa Kushmanda
Maa Skanda Mata
Maa Katyayani
Maa Kalratri
Maa Maha Gauri
Maa Siddhidatri

 Chaitra Paksha First Navratri - Ghat Sthapna Procedure:

Shardiya Navratri is begin on Pratipada Tithi of Ashwin Shukla Paksha by Kalash Sthapna. In Hindus, Kalash is considered as the form of Mangalmurti Ganesha. Hence, first of all, Kalash Sthapna is performed. for this, the ground is made pure and clean by applying a paste of cow dung and Ganga Jal. As per the process, 7 types of soil is taken and a Peeth is prepared. If 7 types of soil is not available, then soil brought from river is mixed with Gangot (soil of river Ganga) and Kalash is establiShed on this. Mata Shailputri Puajan - Devi Pujan on First Day of Navratri. In Kalash, seven types of soil (Saptamatrika),betel nut,money is offered. And Kalash is adorned with five types of Pallav. Beneath the urn, 7 types of cereals and barley is grown which is cut on Dashmi Tithi. Worshipper and his family get blessings of happiness, wealth, health by chanting the mantra "Jayanti Mangla Kali Bhadrakali Kapalini, Durga Kshama Shiva Dhatri Swaha, Swadha Namostute".

 Navratri Grah Shanti:

On the day of Pratipada, Mars planet pacification is done. On Dwetiya, work related to Rahu planet pacification are performed. On Tritiya, Jupiter planet pacification works are done. On Chaturthi, a person performs Saturn pacification and avoid the inauspicious effects of Saturn. On Panchami, Mercury planet, on Shashti Tithi, Ketu, on Saptami, Venus planet pacification, on Ashtami Tithi sun pacification should be performed and on Navami, Moon pacification rituals are performed. Before beginning the process of Greh Shanti, Kalash Sthapna and Durga Maa Pujan should be performed. After Puja, Navgreh Yantra is drawn on a piece of red cloth. After this, Navgreh mantra is chanted and resolution of Navgreh Shanti is taken. On Pratipada, ars is worshipped as this day, Mars Greh Shanti is performed. After Puja, with the beads of Moonga or Red Akik or Panchmukhi Rudraksha, Mars mantra are chanted for 108 times. Then, Mangal Kavach and should be read. For the Rahu Shanti, Rahu is worshipped and Rahu’s mantra is chanted 108 times for auspicious results of Rahu.

 God to be worshipped in Navratri:

Lord Ram and Hanuman are also worshipped with Maa Durga during Navratri. Reading Sundarkand, Ram Charitra Manas and Ramayan is considered fruitful. Obstacles through enemy are removed. Desires are fulfilled. A person who worship Goddess in a systematic manner during Navratri, all his works are completed and his soul gets peace.
Maa Shailputri :
Navratri commences with the 1st night devoted to the puja of Meri Maiya Shailputri. Shail means mountains; Parvati, the daughter of king of Mountains Himavan, is known as ...  Read More
Maa Brahmacharini :
One hand holds a "Kumbha" or water port and the otHer rosary. She personifies love and loyalty. Bhramcharni is store-house of knowledge and wisdom. Rudraksha is Her ...  Read More
Maa Chandraghanta :
Worshipped on the 3rd night this Durga Shakti is astride a tiger, displays a golden hue to Her skin possesses ten hands and 3 eyes. Eight of Her hands display weapons while ...  Read More
Maa Kushmanda :
The 4th night begins the worship of Meri Maiya Kushmanda, possessed of eight arms, holding weapons and a mala or rosary. Her mount is a tiger and She emanates a ...  Read More
Maa Skandamata :
Using a lion as a vehicle She holds Her son, SKAND in Her lap while displaying 3 eyes and 4 hands; two hands hold lotuses while the otHer 2 hands respectively display defending ...  Read More
Maa Kathyayini :
As motHer, Kathyayini stayed in the Ashram of sage Katyayan for penance, hence She named as Kathyayini. This 6th Shakti is also astride a lion with 3 eyes and 4 arms. One ...  Read More
Maa Kaalratri :
Black skin with bountiful hair and 4 hands, 2 clutching a cleaver and a torch, while the remaining 2 are in the mudras of "giving" and "protecting". Her vahana is a faithful donkey. ...  Read More
Maa Mahagauri :
Four arms with the fairest complexion of all the Durga Shaktis. Peace and compassion radiate from Her being and She is often dressed in a white or green sari. She ...  Read More
Maa Siddhiratri :
Ensconced upon a lotus, most commonly, with 4 arms, and is the possessor of 26 different wiShes to grant Her bhakts. Meri Maiya Siddhidaatri's famous pilgrim centre is located in Nanda ...  Read More
Maa Dasa Mahavidya :
Dus Mahavidhya of all the Deities , Gods and Goddesses the ten Mahavidhyas enjoy a very respectable place in the spritual spheres. All these Godesses are different ...  Read More
Maa Rajarajeswari :
Raja Rajeshwari -"The Invincible; One who cannot be defeated." The Self ultimately asserts within every bosom from wherein the spiritual values finally emerge victorious. The ...  Read More
Maa Devimansarovar :
According to Hindu mythology, Mansarovar is a creation of Lord Brahma, the God of Creation. The sons of Lord Brahma lacked a sufficient site to perform rites, so they called ...  Read More
For More Details Please contact to :
Shri. Rajeev Krishna Dasa 
Address : 306,'C'Wing, Neelkanth Business Park,
Nathani Road, Behind Vidyavihar Railway Station, Vidyavihar(W), Mumbai- 400086, Maharashtra, (INDIA).
Tel No. :   (00)-(91) 22-25109744, 9322646420/21
Mobile No : 00-91- 9322646420 / 9322646421
Email Id : ,
Web Site :