Papmochani Ekadashi 

The Ekadashi of Krishna Paksha, Chaitra Masa is called the Papamochani Ekadashi. The fast of Papamochani
Ekadashi removes all sins of a person and opens the door of heaven for him. In the year 2016, Papamochani Ekadashi will be on 3 April. Lord Vishnu is worshipped, on this day. Performing the Shodashopachara Puja increase the auspicious effects on this fast.

The Legend of Papmochani Ekadshi

In the ancient days, there was a forest named Chitrarath. Gandharva girls and Gods, all used to enjoy and frolic here. Once, a Rishi named Medhavi was meditating, in the forest. Then, a nymph named Manjughosa got fascinated by the Rishi. She tried to attract him with her beauty and dance. At that time, Kamdev was also passing from there. Even Kaamdev helped the nymph, in this work. As a result, the fairy was success in breaking the meditation of Rishi.

After few year, when Rishi came out of the charm and illusion, he remembered that he was performing meditation for Lord Shiva. He blamed the fairy for his condition. And, he cursed the nymph to be a female demon. Hearing the curse, Manjughosa trembled and fell in the feet of Rishi. She asked forgiveness and remedy for this curse. Then, Rishi asked him to observe the fast of Papamochani Ekadashi. Rishi also observed this fast, to get free from his sin. On completion of fast, both of them got rid of their sin.

From that time, a tradition of observing this fast is being carried on. This fast, makes a person free from all his sins, done knowing or unknowingly.

Papamochani Ekadashi Fast Method

Lord Vishnu is worshipped in the fast of Ekadashi. Person observing the fast of Papamochani Ekadashi should have Satvik food (meal with no onion and garlic etc.) on the Dashmi Tithi (a day before Ekadasi). The fasting period of Ekadashi Vrat is for 24hours. Hence, a person needs to prepare himself mentally before starting the fast. In the day time of Ekadashi, Lord Vishnu is remembered and meditation is performed. And, Jagran is performed by reading Vishnu Path, in the whole night. Person observing the fast should wake up at the time of sunrise and complete his routine works. Then, the resolution of fast is taken and Lord Vishnu is worshipped. Now, the person should sit infront of Lord Vishnu’s idol and read the Shrimad Bhagwat Katha. After fasting the whole day, Jagran performed at night, multiplies the auspiciousness of fast results. Not having any food, in the night of Ekadashi and performing Jagran, increase the virtues of fasting. Person should sacrifice luxury and pleasure, on the day of fast. He should avoid having any sorts of bad thoughts in his mind. On the day of fast, it is must to hear the Vrat Katha. On the Dvadashi (a day after Ekadashi), person observing fast should take bath in the early morning, then Lord Vishnu is worshipped and Brahmans are given food and alms. After completing all these thing, food is eaten. This way the fast is concluded.

Matsya Avtar :
Matsya is the first incarnation of Lord Vishnu. Matsya or the Fish incarnation. In this form Lord Vishnu saved the Saint...  Read More
Kurma Avtar :
Kurma is the second form of Lord Krishna's incarnation. At the Churning of the Ocean, Vishnu as Kurma ...  Read More
Varaha Avtar :
Varaha or the Boar incarnation of Vishnu is the third incarnation of the Lord Vishnu. He killed the demon Hiranyaksha. ...  Read More
Narsimha Avtar :
Narsimha is the fourth incarnation of Lord Vishnu. Narasimha or the Lion incarnation as a creature who was half-lion and half-man...  Read More
Vaman Avtar :
Vaman or the dwarf incarnation is the fifth incarnation of the Lord Vishnu. Lord Vaman killed the demon Bali...  Read More
Parshuram Avtar :
Parasurama is the sixth incarnation of the Lord Vishnu. Prasurama killed the King ...  Read More
Ram Avtar :
Maryada Purshottam Ram killed the demon Ravana who abducted Sita thereby librated the earth from the miseries, ...  Read More
Krishna Avtar :
Krishna is the other name of eternity, austerity and completeness and is considered as the eighth incarnation of Lord Vishnu ...  Read More
Buddha Avtar :
Buddha is the ninth incarnation of Lord Vishnu. Buddha though born in the rich and kingly family left his family ...  Read More
Kalki Avtar :
Kalki is considered to be the tenth incarnation of Lord Vishnu which has yet to come after Kalyuga. ...  Read More
Mahavishnu :
Maha Vishnu is the one who was born before the world of gross bodies, therefore it indicated here that he is the Womb-of all objects ...  Read More
Laxmi Narayan:
Laxmi Narayan is one of the rarest Shaligram. One who worships this Shaligram gets immense wealth and very good health ...  Read More
For More Details Please contact to :
Shri. Rajeev Krishna Dasa 
Address : 306,'C'Wing, Neelkanth Business Park,
Nathani Road, Behind Vidyavihar Railway Station, Vidyavihar(W), Mumbai- 400086, Maharashtra, (INDIA).
Tel No. :   (00)-(91) 22-25109744, 9322646420/21
Mobile No : 00-91- 9322646420 / 9322646421
Email Id : ,
Web Site :